Tomball College Library NHMCCD (the District page)

Books
The Online Catalog will show books and audio-visual materials for all colleges in the district and all branches of the Montgomery County Public Library System, and the Harris County Public Library system.
If you can't find any particular material at this Library, you can use your current library card (using the barcode) to request materials from the other libraries in the system.
If you cannot locate what you need, please contact a Reference Librarian in person, or call 832.559.4211.
|
Useful Keywords: Type one of these keywords in the "Subject Keyword" field in the Catalog to find books and audio-visual items located in the library. |
|
Personal Finance Investments Mutual Funds Stocks |
Individual Retirement Accounts Real Estate Investment House Buying Home Ownership |
Useful Call Numbers (to browse the shelves):
|
HD 1379 |
HG 179 |
HG 1662 |
|
HG 3755 |
HG 4521 |
(HCPL's Non-fiction collection) 332.632 |
|
(HCPL's Non-fiction collection) 332.743 |
(HCPL's Non-fiction collection) 346.73 |
(HCPL's Non-fiction collection) 643 |
Click here for a list of circulating books, magazines and videos (items that you can check out) and reference books (items that you can use in the library) available in the college's collection.
Click here for a list of electronic books that you can read online (you will need a current library card barcode to read these online from home).
Click here for a list of books from the Harris County Public Library's collection.
You may also find some more books on the subject in the same call number area.
Articles & More
Databases index journals and books, and many offer full-text articles. Here is a list of databases to give you information on your topic.
| Start your research with EBSCO or ProQuest - these databases cover many different subject areas! | |
| ProQuest Newspapers/Research Library | Articles from journals, magazines, newspapers; many scholarly journals. (ProQuest) |
| EBSCO Academic Search Premier |
|
| Academic Universe | News, business, legal research, and reference information. (Lexis-Nexis) |
| Business & Company Resource Center |
|
| Business Source Premier |
|
| Country Watch | Provides geographical, political, and cultural information on each of the 192 countries of the world. |
| Houston Chronicle | Houston Chronicle newspaper from 1986 to present, with particular emphasis on the aerospace, energy, shipping, oil and gas industries. (ProQuest) |
| InfoTrac Newspapers |
|
| netLibrary |
|
| Newspaper Source |
|
| Regional Business News |
|
| Wall Street Journal | The financial newspaper that covers business news worldwide; 1984-present. (ProQuest) |
|
WestLaw Campus Research
New!!
(To be used for educational purposes only by NHMCCD student/faculty) |
A searchable
database that includes legal, business information and news.
(Thomson West)
|
Articles may be printed, downloaded, or e-mailed to your email account and also accessed from home or any computer that is connected to the Internet. You will need the barcode from your library card (it is on the back of your library card, use all 14 digits without any spaces), if you are accessing the databases remotely.
Web Sites: (not a comprehensive list)
http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/buying/buyhm.cfm
http://www.fool.com/investing.htm?source=LN
http://www.fool.com/pf.htm?source=LN
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_finance
http://www.forbes.com/finance/http://www.kiplinger.com/magazine/
http://money.netscape.cnn.com/default.jsp http://dmoz.org/Home/Personal_Finance/ http://www.smartmoney.com/pf/ http://www.persfin.co.za/http://www.pitt.edu/~copc/buying.htm
http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/mecklenburg/depts/fce/house.htm