Tomball College and Community Library

Databases - Alphabetical   

a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p r s t u v w main

Databases - Subject List

Need Help?
Call: 832-559-4211 

college users can access off campus Indicates remote access  restricted to  college library card holders.

 

Database Title   Description
A-Z Journal Locator college users can access off campus Identifies where magazine, newspaper, and journal titles are available as full text in the online databases.  Search by title, subject, or database. (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier

 

Articles from journals, magazines, newspapers; many scholarly journals. (EBSCO)

Access Newspaper Archive  

Historical archives of national and local newspapers., with coverage as far back as 1759 up through 1977 (not every paper has this extended coverage). " (Access Newspaper Archive)

Only available on-site at the Tomball or Cy-Fair Libraries.

Agricola

 

Index of agriculture literature index compiled by the  National Agricultural Library (EBSCO)

ALLDATA

 

Automotive diagnostic and repair information. (ALLDATA LLC)

Only available on-site at the Tomball or Cy-Fair Libraries.

Alt Health Watch   Full text for articles from more than 180 international  journals, reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters on complementary and alternative medicine. (Ebsco)

Ancestry Library Edition

 

Genealogy data including census and immigration records, directories, biographies, newspapers and periodicals. (Ancestry.com and ProQuest)

Only available on-site at the Tomball or Cy-Fair Libraries.

ARTStor

college users can access off campus

Digital library of art images from museums, universities and other repositories. 

Bibliography of Native North Americans   Citations on native North American culture, history, and life. No full text. (EBSCO)

Biography Reference Bank

 

"Over 45,000 biographies for people present and past." (H. W. Wilson)

Book Index with Reviews college users can access off campus Find information on books and audio-visual items that are out of print, on print and also those that are forthcoming. (BIR)

Business & Company Resource Center

college users can access off campus

Company profiles, industry rankings, current investment ratings, financial ratios. (Gale)

Business Source Premier

 

Scholarly journals & popular magazines on economics, management, finance, etc. (EBSCO)

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

 

Comprehensive listing of assistance programs administered by 57 Federal Agencies.

Chronicle of Higher Education college users can access off campus Weekly newspaper that focuses on higher education issues.  Leading source of job openings at colleges, universities and non-profit organizations.

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text

college users can access off campus

This "is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals" and includes "more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937."(EBSCO)

CINAHL Select

college users can access off campus

"A valuable resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database contains more than 170 full text journals with PDF coverage back as far as 1973 including 120 peer-reviewed publications.

Clinical Pharmacology   Current drug monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs, plus  Patient Education Records, in English and Spanish.  (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete

college users can access off campus

Full text articles from over 160 journals in the communication disciplines, plus indexing and abstracts for 350 additional journals.

Computer Source   Full text articles from 300 periodicals on computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. (EBSCO)
Consumer Health Complete   Authoritative information on adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health and sports medicine. (EBSCO)

Contemporary Authors

 

Short biographies of current authors. (Gale)
 

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select

 

Literary criticism from scholarly journals and essays. (Gale)

CountryWatch

college users can access off campus

International political, economic, and business information for 192 countries.

CQ Researcher

college users can access off campus

Analysis of current and controversial issues of the day. (CQ Press).

Dictionary of Literary Biography

 

In-depth literary biographies of current and past authors. (Gale)

Directory of Open Access Journals   Free full text scientific and scholarly journals.
EBSCO Animals   Articles and images on the nature and habitat of familiar animals. (EBSCO)
Economia & Negocios   Index of over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, and the United States in the areas of business and economics. Not full text.  (EBSCO)
ELibrary Curriculum   Full text and multi-media reference sources for K-12.

EBSCOhost Español

 

Spanish language gateway to all Ebsco databases. (EBSCO)

Educational Research Online   Full-text educational reports, papers and journal articles. Includes some journal article from ERIC. (EdRes.org)

ERIC

 

Citations and abstracts of  education-related journals, documents and digests from the U.S. Department of Education - Education Resources Information Center.  Some full-text.  (EBSCO)

Facts.com Reference Suite

college users can access off campus

Includes Issues & Controversies, Reuters News, Today's Science, World Almanac. (Facts.com)

Federal Register

 

United States Federal Register online - 1994 to present
 

Fuente Academica   Full text Spanish language content from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers in academic areas of business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. (EBSCO)
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia   Full text encyclopedia articles, brief biographies, and images. (EBSCO)

Gale Group Databases

 

All Gale Databases (Gale)
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library college users can access off campus Reference works in art, business, education, law, library science, literature, multicultural studies, science, social science and technology. (GALE)

GPO Monthly Catalog

 

Index of U.S. government documents published by the Government Printing Office since 1976   (U. S. Government)

Grove  Art Online

college users can access off campus

Full-text art reference covering all the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990's with image links. (Macmillan)

Handbook of Texas Online

 

Encyclopedia entries on Texas history, culture, and geography. (Texas State Historical Association)

Harris County Public Library - Electronic Journals

 

Find magazine, newspaper, and journal titles available in Harris County Public Library databases by title or subject. (Serials Solutions, Inc.)

Health & Wellness Resource Center

 

Health web sources, general interest health publications, health and medical journals. (Gale)

Health Reference Center

 

Fitness, medicine, nutrition, diseases, nursing, public health, occupational health & safety. (Gale)

Health Source - Consumer Edition   Full text consumer health periodicals, pamphlets; and reference books. Includes prescription, over-the- counter, and alternative drug information. (EBSCO)
Health Source - Nursing/Academic   550 scholarly full text journals on nursing and allied health.  Includes Clinical Pharmacology. (EBSCO)

Heritage Quest

 

Family lineage, genealogies, third-party histories and local histories beginning with the 13 original colonies. (ProQuest)

HighWire Press

 

Back issues of high impact scholarly journals in the life sciences. (HighWire Press/Stanford University)

History Reference Center college users can access off campus "Full text from more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. " (EBSCO)

History Study Center

college users can access off campus

Scholarly journals and reference materials on American History (ProQuest)

Houston Chronicle

college users can access off campus

Full-text news articles  from 1993 to the present (ProQuest)
 

Information Science & Technology Abstracts   Index of 450 journals plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patent on subjects related to information science and mangement. Not full text.(EBSCO)

InfoTrac  Newspapers

college users can access off campus

Over 100 U.S. and international newspapers, including several Texas newspapers and the most recent 12 months of the New York Times. (GALE)

Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts   Index of 400  trade publications, popular computer magazines, and professional journals on Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development, plus  hardware and software reviews. Not full text (EBSCO)

Issues & Controversies

college users can access off campus

Controversial topics studied in-depth, pro & con. (Facts.com)

JAAHA

college users can access off campus

Scientific and educational publication of the American Animal Hospital Association. (AAHA)

JSTOR  Arts & Sciences Collection I & III  

college users can access off campus

Full-text articles from scholarly anthropology, education, economics, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology.

Kids Search Interface   Search interface designed for grade K-8.  Includes magazines, photos, reference books and flags..   (EBSCO)

LearningExpress Library

 

Test preparation using practice tests based on official exams. (LearningExpress)

Legal Collection   Scholarly publications on  topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. (EBSCO)
Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts   Index of library literature. (EBSCO)

Literature Resource Center

 

Biographical information and literary criticism from magazines, scholarly journals, and Gale print series. (Gale)

Los Angeles Times   Full-text articles from 1985 to the present (ProQuest)
Mas Ultra - School Edition   Biographies, primary source documents, and full text articles from over 700 popular high school magazines. (EBSCO)

MasterFILE Premier

 

Periodical and newspaper articles, Magill's Book Reviews, Essential Documents in American History, Dun & Bradstreet info. Full-text Consumer Reports and Business Week. (EBSCO)

MedicLatina  

Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Includes access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals. (EBSCO)

Medline with MESH

 

National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Limited full text. (EBSCO)

MedlinePlus

 

Health information in English and Spanish. (U.S. National Institutes of Health)

Micromedex Healthcare Series

college users can access off campus

Reference information on drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care and alternative medicine. Includes the PDR (Thomson Micromedex)

Micromedex CareNotes System

college users can access off campus

Easy-to-understand information, in English and Spanish, about all aspects of patient care, medications, and health. (Thomson Micromedex)

Middle Search Plus   140 popular, middle school magazines. (EBSCO)

Military and Government Collection

 

Current news pertaining to the military and federal government.(EBSCO)

MLA International Bibliography

college users can access off campus

Literary research index of journal articles, books and essays within books. (Gale)

Morningstar  

Information on mutual funds, stocks and ETFs.   Limit of five simultaneous users.

Natural and Alternative Treatments   Detailed information on conventional and natural treatments for 180 conditions. (EBSCO)

Naxos Music Library

college users can access off campus

Classical, jazz, world, folk, new age, chamber, ballet, film and opera music recordings in 75,000+ tracks plus related text information about the works. Requires Windows Media Player 9 or higher to play music. Limit of 25 simultaneous users for this resource. (Naxos Digital Services Ltd.)

netLibrary



 

 

Complete contents of over 40,000 electronic books. Users must create a user id and password for netlibrary. Different titles are available in the college’s and HCPL’s netlLibrary collections.

New York Times

college users can access off campus

Full-text articles from the NYT from 1980 to the present (ProQuest)

New York Times Historical

college users can access off campus

Full-text and full-image newspaper articles from the NYT from 1851-2003 (ProQuest)

Newspaper Source   Cover-to-cover full text for 20 national & international newspapers. (EBSCO)

NOAH - Network of Animal Health

college users can access off campus

Online interactive veterinary resources from the American Veterinary Medical Association. (AVMA) See librarian for log-in.

Novelist

 

Reader’s advisory service for fiction literature.  Search by author, genre, or similar books. (EBSCO)

Occupational Outlook Handbook

 

Descriptions of current careers, educational requirements, salary, job outlook, and professional associations. (Bureau of Labor Statistics)

Opposing Viewpoints
 

 

An electronic version of the books which take a topic and look at both sides of an issue. (Gale)

OT Search

college users can access off campus

Indexes and abstracts for occupational therapy related resources.  (AOTA) (No full-text) See Librarian for log-in.

Patent and Trademark Database

 

United States patents, trademarks, abstracts, full-text and images available. (U.S. Patent & Trademark Office)

Primary Search   70 popular, elementary school magazines and image collection of  photos, maps, and flags.(EBSCO)
Professional Development Collection   Full text education journals and reports. (EBSCO)
Project Muse college users can access off campus Full-text articles from over 250 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Learning: Literature   Collection of resources that includes "over 3000 author pages giving access to biographies, original works, book reviews and criticisms, and contextual multimedia". Also includes poetry resources "over 185,ooo full-text poems". (ProQuest)

ProQuest National Newspapers

college users can access off campus

Full-text articles from five national newspapers (the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Christian Science Monitor). (ProQuest)

ProQuest Research Library

college users can access off campus

Articles from journals, magazines, national newspapers, including many scholarly journals. (ProQuest)

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection  

575 full text publications, including  550 peer-reviewed titles, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

PubMed

 

Medical research; National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database Limited full-text.

Read the Books

 

With the use of state-of-the-art 3D animation and the latest streaming video technology, ReadtheBooks.com offers an innovative and entertaining solution to help connect kids with books.

Reference USA

 

Search over 12 million U.S. businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. health care providers by various criteria. (InfoUSA)

Regional Business News

 

Daily international newswires and regional business publications. (EBSCO)

Religion & Philosophy Collection

 

300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political and moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy." (EBSCO)

RIA Checkpoint

college users can access off campus

Covers tax accounting, financial reporting and management topics.  Contact accounting professor for log-in.

Safari Tech Books Online

 

Electronic reference library for programmers and IT professionals. Limit of 5 simultaneous users for this resource.

Science & Technology Collection   800  full text journals covering aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. (EBSCO)
Scribner Writers Series   Biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of world authors, literary themes, and movements. (Gale)
Searchasaurus   Search interface for young children. (EBSCO)
Serials Directory   Current bibliographic and pricing information on popular serials. (EBSCO)

St. Luke's Community Resource Database

 

A repository of health and social service programs in a 13 county area around Houston. Also includes statistics on populations, births, and deaths. (United Way & St. Luke's Episcopal Health Charities)

Stat! Ref

college users can access off campus

An electronic medical library that enables users to cross-search more than 35 medical resources. (Teton Data Systems)

Teacher Reference Center   Index of 280  popular teacher and school administrator trade journals (EBSCO)
Texas Almanac 2006-2007   History, culture, political climate, and geography of the state of Texas. "The included Texas Towns database has information on current, and past, Texas towns."

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

 

Maps of property and land-use records for Texas towns and cities for past 100 years. (ProQuest)

Texas Reference Center   Full-text books and periodicals related to Texas history. (EBSCO)

Texas Statutes

 

Texas laws online. (State of Texas)

Thomson Gale Legal Forms   Business, personal and general legal forms that may be viewed and printed. (Thomson Gale)
Today's Science on File college users can access off campus Latest developments in science, medicine, and technology. Click on the "Today's Science" tab to access
TopicSearch   Current events database covering social, political and economic issues, and  scientific discoveries (EBSCO)

TumbleBookLibrary

 

Interactive children's books using Flash animation (TumbleBooks Inc.)

TumbleTalkingBooks

 

Complete contemporary & classic streaming audio books for adults & children (TumbleBooks Inc.)

Twayne's Authors Series   Includes the content of the 600 books that make up Twayne's US Authors, English Authors and World Authors.
Twayne's English Authors
 
  Part of the the Twayne's Authors Series. This part of the series focuses on the major literary works and figures of English literature.
Twayne's US Authors
 
  Part of the the Twayne's Authors Series. This part of the series Includes the critical interpretation and discussion of the lives and works of  individual American authors.
Twayne's World Authors   Part of the the Twayne's Authors Series. Include a critical discussion of authors representing 34 nationalities and literature from ancient times to the present.
Twentieth Century American Poetry   Full-text of American poetry from 1900 to the present day." (Proquest)
Twentieth Century  English Poetry   Full-text of English poetry from 1900 to the present day." (Proquest)

U. S. Code

 

United States Laws (U.S. House of Representatives)
 

Visual Thesaurus   Features 145,000+ English words with pronunciations and 115,000 meanings with a graphic map of relationships between words. (Thinkmap, Inc.)

Value Line Investment Service

 

Investment advice on stocks. (Value Line)

Only available on-site at the Tombal