Research Guide: Current and Controversial Topics

Tomball College & Community Library

Phone: 832-559-4211                                                    http://tclibrary.nhmccd.edu

 

 

Finding a Topic:

 

Controversial Topics Series of Books:

 

At Issue

Opposing Viewpoints

Contemporary World Issues

Current Controversies

 Taking Sides

 

The above series of books contain subject overviews, sometimes presenting pro/con viewpoints, chronologies, documents, and references. Searching the catalog for a list of the titles within these series will provide you with some ideas. Use the Series Keyword menu and type in the title of the series.

 

 

99 Jumpstarts to Research; Topic Guides for Finding Information on Current Issues:

The Contents page of this book provides a good list of topics and the text of the book provides hints on researching the various topics. This book is available to check out (call no. ZA3050 .W47 2001), or you can use the reference copy located behind the reference desk.

 

 

Databases:

Several online databases have good topic lists:

CQ Researcher: good list for narrowing a topic under Browse by Topic, and for the most current reports in the database, go to In the News

Issues & Controversies: click on Need a Research Topic? on the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Opposing Viewpoints: offers a list on their home screen.

 

Periodicals:
Browsing recent issues of newspapers, such as The Houston Chronicle or USA Today, and popular magazines, such as Time or Newsweek, is a great way to find ideas.


Researching the Topic:

 

Searching the Catalog:

From the Library Website (tclibrary.nhmccd.edu), choose Search the Catalog to locate books and periodicals on your topic. The Library Catalog will show listings for materials held by all colleges in the district, as well as all branches of Harris County Public Libraries and Montgomery County Memorial Libraries. To limit your search to the Tomball College & Community Library, use the Limit by drop down menu.

 

 

            Books:

Use the Keyword Anywhere menu, rather than Subject Keyword. Subject will only search the Subject field and uses very specific language. Keyword Anywhere searches the entire record and using it will yield more results. If you have trouble finding the books you need, try using different language in your search (Ex: For the topic “cloning,” you can also try searching for “genetic engineering” or “bio-engineering”).

 

 

           

            Helpful Journals:

           

Congressional Digest (2nd floor periodical shelves)

Each issue has pro and con overviews of topics such as civil liberties, immigration, and nuclear power.

 

CQ Researcher (Ref H35 .C64)

Each issue has in-depth coverage of current and controversial topics, including pro and con viewpoints, background information, chronology, statistics, and references to additional information.

 

CQ Weekly (2nd floor periodical shelves)

            Covers topics that shape public policy and legislation, providing discussions on

 the intersection of business and government

 

Issues and Controversies On File (Ref D410 .I88)

Provides summaries of current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics.


Finding Journal Articles Using Online Databases:

From the Library Website, choose List of Databases; then, choose Current Issues & News from the subject list. If you are accessing the databases from home, use the barcode number on the back of your college ID to log in.

           

Proquest Newspapers/Research Library

Provides articles, often full-text, from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Articles can be printed, downloaded, or e-mailed.

 

Ebsco Academic Search Premier

Provides articles, often full-text, from journals, magazines, newspapers. Articles can be printed, downloaded, or e-mailed.

 

CQ Researcher

Provides in-depth articles on a wide variety of current topics. Articles include pro and con viewpoints, background information, chronology, statistics, and references.

 

Issues & Controversies

Provides in-depth articles on a variety of current topics. Articles include an overview of the topic, discussing both sides, references, key words and points.

 

Opposing Viewpoints

Provides articles, either pro or con, on a variety of current topics. Also provides a list of topics.

____________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

Search the Internet:

 

 

http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Hot/hotindex.htm

Best Information on the Net – Hot Paper Topics

 

http://www.digital-librarian.com/

Digital Librarian: a librarian’s choice of the best of the Web

 

http://www.vote-smart.org/issue_group.php

Project Vote Smart (links to various Issue Organizations)

 

http://fpc.state.gov/c4763.htm

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and Issue Briefs

 


Sample MLA Documentation for Articles Found On Online Databases:

 

Proquest Newspapers/Research Library:

Richardson, Nicole Marie. “Election Reform: A Work in Progress.” Black Enterprise

35.10 (2005): 36. Research Library. ProQuest. Tomball Coll. Lib., Tomball,

TX. Access Date <htp://www.proquest.umi.com.ezproxy.nhmccd.edu>.

 

Ebsco Academic Search Premier:

Bimbacher, Dieter. “Human Cloning and Human Dignity.” Reproductive

BioMedicine Online 10 (2005): 50-55. Academic Search Premier. EBSCOhost.

Tomball Coll. Lib., Tomball, TX. Access Date <http://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.nhmccd.edu>.

 

CQ Researcher:

Prah, Pamela M. “Draft Debates.” CQ Researcher. 19 Aug. 2005.

CQ Researcher Online. CQPress. Tomball Coll. Lib., Tomball, TX. Access Date <http://library.cqpress.com.ezproxy.nhmccd.edu/cqresearcher>.

 

Issues & Controversies:

“Disaster Relief.” 18 July 2005. Issues & Controversies. Facts.com. Tomball Coll.

Lib., Tomball, TX. Access Date <http://www.2facts.com.ezproxy.nhmccd.edu>.

 

Opposing Viewpoints:

Cole, David. “The War on Terrorism Has Eroded Civil Liberties.” Civil Liberties. Ed.

Auriana Ojeda. Greenhaven, 2004. Abr Rpt. of “Enemy Aliens and American

Freedoms: Experience Teaches Us That Whatever the Threat, Certain

Principles Are Sacrosanct.” The Nation. 275 (2002): 20. Opposing Viewpoints

Resource Center. Gale. Tomball Coll. Lib., Tomball, TX. Access Date

<http://infotrac.galegroup.com.ezproxy.nhmccd.edu>.

 

Sample MLA Documentation for An Internet Site:

Jordan, Mary. “Federal Disaster Recovery Programs: Brief Summaries.”

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and Issue Briefs. 29 Aug. 2005.

Access Date <http://fpc.state.gov/c4763.htm>.