|
Reference Books
Start your research on psychology, the study of the mind and behavior of humans and other animals, in the Reference Area of the library.
Specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias on psychology will provide
important background information on your
topic:
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Ref
BF109.A1 B56
Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology Ref BF31.C67 1998
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV-TR
Ref. RC455.2. C4.D536
Encyclopedia of Adult Development. Ref BF724.5 .E53
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior. Ref BF31 .E5
Encyclopedia of Mental Health. Ref RA790.5 .E53
Encyclopedia of Psychology. Ref BF31 .E52
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ref H40.A2 I5
Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Ref R121 .S8
Since psychology is
a multidisciplinary field, you may also find appropriate
resources in the subject areas of education, medicine, criminal justice, biology, social services,
child development and substance abuse.
APA
Style Manual
Psychology professors usually require papers to be
written in the APA
documentation style found in the Publication
Manual of the American Psychological Association (Ref
Desk BF76.7 .P82). The
APA
Style Guide handout provides brief explanations
of how to document specific types of materials. Copies of the
handout are also available near the 2nd floor Reference Desk in the Tomball
College and Community Library.
Library Catalog
Use the
NHMCCD online catalog to find print or electronic books and
audiovisual materials for your psychology course. Useful Library of Congress call numbers for
locating psychology materials in the college's library research collection are:
|
BF 1-990
BF 173-175
BF 180-198
BF 660-685
BF 501-505
BF 698
BF 712-724
|
Psychology
Psychoanalysis
Experimental Psychology
Animal & Human Psychology Motivation
Personality
Developmental Psychology
|
BF 795-839
BF 1001 - 1398
GN
HM 251 - 291
HQ
HV
RC 321-576
|
Temperament. Character. Parapsychology
Ethnic Psychology
Social Psychology
Family, Marriage
Social Pathology
Neurology and Psychiatry
|
Useful Dewey call numbers for public library materials are
130
150
610 |
Popular Psychology
Psychology
Medicine/Mental Health |
|
|
Psychology Journals
Over 100 psychology journals are available from the Tomball College and
Community
Library. For a complete listing, see the
Tomball College and Community
Library -
Psychology Journals link on the library's web page or pick up a copy in the
literature display stands near the 2nd floor reference desk. A few of the
available psychology journals are:
|
American Journal of Psychology
Child & Family Behavior Therapy
Child Development
Developmental Psychology
Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology
Journal of Addictive Diseases
Journal of College Student Psychotherapy
Journal of Consulting & Clinical Psychology
|
Journal of Family Violence
Journal of General
Psychology
Journal of Personality
Mental Retardation
Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal
Psychological Bulletin
Psychological Review
Psychology and Aging
|
Databases and Indexes
Several of the library's databases will have citations, abstracts, and
full-text articles from magazines, journals and newspapers on topics
related to psychology. To search the databases go to the Tomball
College Library web page, choose Databases search from home or
campus,
then click on the Social Sciences. If you are accessing the
databases from home, use the barcode number on the back of your college ID
to log in. Recommended databases for
psychology are:
Ebsco
Academic Search Premier - a specialized databases that includes many of
the scholarly journals published in the field of psychology.
Gale Health and Wellness
Center - a good database for locating articles on mental health, drug
and alcohol abuse, and treatments for psychological disorders.
ProQuest Research Library
- a broad database that includes full-text and abstracts of journal,
magazine and newspaper articles. Be sure to select scholarly journals to find the types
of research articles required for psychology assignments.
Database Search Tips
1. Combine your search terms
suicide AND males -
add a second or third term after the Boolean operator
AND to narrow your search results
(adolescent OR teen) AND suicide -
use
the Boolean operator OR and parentheses to search for either one of
the synonyms.
2. Search for phrases and
names
"attention deficit
disorder" - place quotation marks
around your term to search for only that exact phrase.
3. Eliminate
information that you do not need
"attention
deficit hyperactivity disorder" NOT Ritalin -
use the Boolean operator NOT to exclude results that you do not need.
In this example, articles that discuss Ritalin are excluded.
4. Find all the forms of your key terms
addict* -
place an asterisk immediately after a root word
to find all the forms
of a word (addicts, addiction, addictive)
5. Limit your results with the following
options:
Full
text - limit your results to only the citations that include
the full-text of the article.
Scholarly/Peer-reviewed/Refereed
Publications - notice that each database
uses a different term to designate scholarly journals. To
eliminate popular
magazines and newspapers from your search results use this limiter.
Publication
title -
search only for the magazine, journal, or newspaper that you
need. If you already have a citation or are required to use a
specific periodical, limiting your search to the publication title helps you to quickly locate the
publication, issue, and article that you need.
Date
- set a date range that you want to
search. For example, if you need journals published in the
last five years, set the published date range for January 2001 to December
2005.
|
Example
of limiters in the
EBSCO
Academic Search Premier Database
|
|
Elements of
a Research Article
Once you have located an article
on your topic, your next step is to determine if it is a research article.
Listed below are the key elements that will help you identify psychology research articles.
1. Author's
Abstract
a. Presents a summary of the
article.
b. Identifies the researchers and institutions involved in the study.
b. States the purpose of the study
c. Briefly describes the study population
d States the main facts discovered in the study.
2. Introduction
a. Outlines the reasons for doing
the study. (e.g., gap in previous research studies, different
methodology,
focus on different populations).
b. Cites and discusses findings of related research by other professionals.
c. States the problem that will be studied and the goal of the research.
3. Methods
or Methodology
a. Describes the study
participants, including details on the sex, age, etc. of the
participants, as well as the selection process.
b. Explains how the study experiment was performed, including details of the
procedures
followed, questionnaires,
observations, interviews, tests, etc. used for data collection.
4. Results or Findings
a. Provides tables, charts, graphs of the
findings.
b. States how the data was analyzed.
c. Summarizes what occurred and what
the results of the study were.
5. Discussion
or Conclusions
a. Discusses the expected
and unexpected findings of the study.
b. Explains how the study contributed to the knowledge in the subject area.
c. Outlines implications for further study
6. Additional
Materials
a. References, the list
documenting the materials that were used by the researchers to
support their research
and findings.
b. Appendices, such as copies of the questionnaire.
c. Additional information about the authors, including their current
positions, credentials, and
other publications.
d. Technical information that will help the reader understand how
the study was conducted
or how the data was analyzed.
lnternet Resources for
Psychology
If you need to find web sites
for your assignment, start with authoritative sites that are recognized by
professionals in the field:
American Psychological Association - http://www.apa.org
The
largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology
in the United States.
American Psychiatric
Association - http://www.psych.org
An association of physicians that specialize in the diagnosis and
treatment of mental and emotional disorders.
American Society of
Addiction Medicine - http://www.asam.org/
A medical society for physicians
who treat patients with alcoholism and other addictions.
NIMH
-- http://www.nimh.nih.gov/publicat/index.cfm
The National Institute of Mental Health is a federal agency that
collects, analyzes and disseminates information on mental illness and
behavioral disorders and sponsors research on the mind, brain, and behavior.
Psychcentral.com - http://psychcentral.com/
An annotated directory created by Dr. John Grohol of psychology web sites, newsgroups, and
associations in mental health, psychology, social work, and psychiatry.
SAMHSA's National Mental
Health Information Center - http://www.samhsa.gov/centers/cmhs/cmhs.html
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' clearinghouse
of information on substance abuse and mental health.
revised
08/30/2005
|