Tomball
College Library
NHMCCD

This guide will
help you locate resources on personalities from early American
history. The American Presidents during the early war years are also
listed.
Listed below here
are the early American wars:
"The American
Revolutionary War (1775–1783), also known as the American War of
Independence, was a war fought primarily between
"The North
American War of 1812 between the
wars associated with that year."
"The Mexican-American
War was fought between the
The American
Civil War was fought between the northern and the southern states of the
Books
The Library Catalog
includes books (and audio-visual materials) for all colleges in the district and all branches of the the Harris County Public Library system and Montgomery
County Public Library System.
If you can't find a particular material at this
Library, you can request it from the other libraries by using your current
library card.
If you cannot locate what you need, please
contact a Reference Librarian.
|
Useful Keywords: Type one of these keywords
in the "Subject Keyword" field in the Catalog |
|
Military
- Biography Generals
- Biography Military
- History Presidents
- Pres.
George Washington 1732-1799 Pres.
John Adams 1735-1826 Pres.
Thomas Jefferson 1743-1826 Pres.
James Madison 1751-1836 Pres.
James Monroe 1758-1831 Pres.
John Quincy Pres.
Andrew Jackson 1767-1845 Pres.
Martin Van Buren 1782-1862 Pres.
William Henry Harrison 1773-1841 Pres.
John Tyler 1790-1862 Pres.
James K. Polk 1795-1849 Pres.
Zachary Taylor 1784-1850 |
Pres.
Millard Fillmore 1800-1874 Pres.
Franklin Pierce 1804-1869 Pres.
James Buchanan 1791-1868 Pres.
Abraham Lincoln 1809-1865 Pres.
Andrew Johnson 1808-1875 Pres.
Ulysses Grant 1822-1885 Notable
American women Women
- Dorothea
Lynde Dix 1802-1887
Clara
Barton 1821-1912 Mary
Bickerdyke 1817-1901
Susan
B. Anthony 1820-1906 Abigail
Scott Duniway 1834-1915 Elizabeth
C. Stanton 1815-1902 Deborah
Sampson Gannett 1760-1827 Betsy
Ross 1752-1836 Harriet
Tubman 1821-1913 |
Gen.
Nathanael Green 1742-1786 Gen.
Robert Howe 1732-1785 Gen.
John
Paul Jones 1747-1792 Oliver Hazard Perry 1785-1819 Paul
Revere 1735-1818 Patrick
Henry 1736-1799 George
B. McClellan 1826-85 Stephen
Decatur 1779-1820 James
Lawrence 1781-1813 Isaac
Hull 1773-1843 Gen.
Philip Kearny 1814-1862 |
Frederick
Douglass 1818-1895 Gen.
Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain 1828-1914 Gen.
William Sherman 1820-1989
Pres.
Jefferson Davis 1809-1889 size=1>(President of
the Southern Confederacy) Gen. Robert E. Lee 1807-1870 Gen.
Stonewall Jackson 1824-1863 American Revolution* War American Civil War leaders War - 1812 American
Mexican War |
Useful
Call Numbers:
|
E 178, E 209 |
E 468, E 444 |
HQ 1413,
JK 1846 |
|
E457.2 -
E 672 |
UB210
.L264 2002 |
(HCPL's Non-fiction collection) 355 |
|
(HCPL's Non-fiction collection) 973.3 |
(HCPL's Non-fiction collection) 920 |
(HCPL's Non-fiction collection) 973.7092 |
Click here for a
short list of circulating books (books that you can check out) and reference
books (books that you can use in the library)
available
in the library. You may find more books on the subject in the same Call Number
area.
Check
the library
catalog for more books by typing a keyword in the box asking for
"Subject Keyword". Some keywords are mentioned above.
Articles and more
Databases index journals and books, and many offer
full-text articles. Here is a list of databases to give you information on your
topic.
Over 45,000 biographies for people present and past.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier
Provides articles, often full-text, from newspapers, magazines and academic journals.Online history resource that covers fourteen centuries of world history articles and essays from rare primary sources to key journals.
Includes about 35,000 electronic books.
New York Times Historical 1857 - 1986
Full-text and full-image articles.
ProQuest Research Library
Provides articles, often full-text, from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.Articles can be printed, downloaded, or e-mailed and also be accessed from any off-campus computers with an internet connection. You will need the barcode from your library card (it is on the back of your library card, use all 14 digits without any spaces), if you are accessing the databases from off-campus.
Selected Web Sites
|
|
|||
|